MT. Capulin adventure

Life is so busy and it’s so easy to become stale in our existence.  My mother once told me to never forget to LIVE. When she passed away, those words echoed in my mind and pushed me to stop, smell the roses, and appreciate what life has to offer.

At least once a month, I take off, destination unknown until that day or until I’m behind the wheel of my car.

My latest trip was to MT. Capulin, in New Mexico. It is approximately 200 miles from where I live in Amarillo.

7

To get to the rim, it’ a 16-minute drive to the top, cliff edge to the right, driving at 20 miles per hour. It’s not for the weak person. The drive up is nerve wracking.

When you first drive the long road up the path, there is a visitors center. It has several local artists jewelry, canning goods and other memorabilia. Once you reach the top, there are posts located as you see above, describing the land and how the mountain hand exploded and then became extinct.

11These little signs are posted along the path. So, if you like plants, it will give you and education of the local foliage.

1

There I am, at the top, this is before I decided to become brave and walk around the rim. See that smile? It fades halfway through.

 

Did you read above? Yeah, this is my walking real slow, then finding a spot along the way to rest. It’s all uphill. You feel muscles in your legs that you didn’t know you had.

Okay, so here I am, working downhill. It’s not so bad on the legs. Even Sheba was happy. She got tired going up and jumped in my arms so I would carry her.

What’s great about road trips is what you see along the way.  There are always those little stops that are just as fascinating.

Such as these two beauties.

Along the stretch of road going up to MT. Capulin, on the right side of the road, there is a farm with cows and horses. The walking steaks act as if they own the road, and you have to wait for them to move. The are horses fenced in and when we approached, they all approached. They enjoyed being pet and talked to and the intimacy they showed one another, is something most human animals have never experienced. Just beautiful.

I saw much more, but I don’t want to ruin it all for you. What are you waiting for? Go, you’ll love it.

 

Leave a Reply

